City of Adel, Georgia
Adel, formerly known as “Puddleville”, was incorporated on October 3, 1889 in what was then part of Berrien County. In 1919, Cook County was formed by an act of the Georgia Legislature and Adel was named as the County seat.
A rather unique name, Adel is said to have been named by Joel “Uncle Jack” Parrish, who served as the City’s first Postmaster. Historical accounts indicate that, while considering a new name for Puddleville, Mr. Parrish saw the name “Philadelphia” on a crocus sack and simply removed the first and last four letters of the famous city and Adel was “born”.
The Jim Paulk-Sowega Building, constructed in the 1930’s, was given to the Adel-Cook County Chamber of Commerce and now serves as their office. The structure, popularly known as “the Watermelon Building”, has an exterior of green watermelon motifs.
The old U.S. Post Office, located at the intersection of 4th Street and Parrish Avenue, is owned by the Cook County Historical Society and serves as a museum and meeting room for the organization. Inside the museum is a New Deal mural known as “Plantation Scene” painted by Alice Flint in 1941.
Eight miles west of Adel on State Route 37 is Reed Bingham State Park. The park features a 375-acre lake used for boating, swimming, water skiing and fishing and offers beautiful walking trails, camp sites, picnic shelters and venues for numerous outdoor activities.
According to 2000 Census, the City of Adel had a population of 5,307 persons. Between 1990 and 2000, the city experienced a population increase of 4.2%, compared to the state growth during this period of 26.4%.